Sign in to follow this  
jinty

Prescot help please?

Hi all, I'm a newbie on here so go easy on me please smile.png

I was born in 1957 in Whiston Hospital. My mother lived with her mother and father at 32 Evans St, Prescot. We lived there until I was about 5 yrs old then we moved away, only returning occasionally to vist relatives in the area. I have a few memories from my early years but would love to know more.

I have very little other knowledge of my family history but would love to know anything at all that people may remember - either of the family or any information about the area in the 40's, 50's or 60's.

I havent been on a site like this before so am not aware of how much info I should put on here..do I post names?..how much info is ok and how much is too much?..is there such a thing?

Jinty

Post names - that's perfectly acceptable here - and I'm sure that you'll get some responses.

Welcome to the site Jinty - as Stephen says you have come to the best place

To get started you need to give some details about your parents and if you have it tthe same for grand parents

Surname & maiden name for mother

forenames

Any dates you have

births

marriages

deaths

Edited by GeoffB

Thanks for your advice smile.png

My mothers name was Winefride Molloy (although we just found out it was actually spelt 'Winifred' on her birth certificate - she must have just preferred the other spelling, because she had drilled it into us that it was spelt like St Winefride) ohyeah.gif

I was illegitimate and never knew my father..so thats a bit of a dead end - he was Welsh, thats all I know..

My maternal grandmother was Jane Molloy and maternal grandfather was Thomas Molloy - of Irish descent. On my mothers birth certificate it says he worked as a Labourer, Bronze Foundry at Electric Cable Works.

Dates are very few..all I know for sure is my mother was born 21 Feb 1931 and died 12 March 2016.

Anything that anyone knows would be of interest to me.